Permanently Deleting Users

Comments

3 comments

  • Avatar
    Beverley Wyatt

    Just FYI as additional information, I just sent an email to all users of the system to inform them of a Brown Bag Lunch Session that I was holding next month.  It took me more time to clean up the list than it did to work with the presenter on the topic and schedule the room! 

    I had to remove duplicates (is there a way to fix duplicate names when creating a report?); and then when I received an email reply from a user who has left the institution, I had to remove them from the "user" list AND go in and delete them from ALL of the plans that they were affiliated with.  Sometimes higher level positions are listed on multiple plans.  I realize that the plan manager should be deleting people as they depart, but right now it falls to me.

    Thanks for anything that can make this process more efficient.  Bev

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Cindy Mohat

    I agree with Beverley.  If when a name is deleted in a plan, then it is also deleted from the user main list, that would be wonderful.  I have had to do the same thing that you have done.  It can be very time consuming.  I have over 200 names to remember. 

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Beverley Wyatt

    Actually, it needs to be the reverse Cindy.  Just because a person is deleted from a "plan" does not mean that they will not be added to another plan later, so they should stay in the system in that particular instance.  I would prefer that if the person is "permanently" deleted from the user list (knowledge that they have retired, left the institution, etc.), that they are also removed from any plan that they are associated with.  Sorry if this was confusing. Bev

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.